top of page

Rural Schools Dominate 2017 KCCU Primary School Quiz

Following the preliminary round of the annual KCCU Primary School Quiz, 6 schools qualified for the finals and interestingly, all but one, are situated in rural communities. When the battle of the teams finally ended, Stubbs Government School, located on the south eastern frontier of the island, emerged victorious.

The duo of Kayla Reid and Kaylee Robertson, pushed the Richland Park Government School, represented by Aroma David and Syneilia Shoy, into second position. However, the boys of the Dorsetshire Hill Government School, Ezra Knights and Corliss Gibson, seemed determined to reduce the dominance of the rural schools. They ended fairly strong in 3rd place.

The other participants in the finals were Zareah Byron and Pharon Durham of the Fair Hall Primary School, Kayla Bobb and Ariel Abbott of Biabou Methodist School, and Jeran Glasgow and Renesha Adams of the Questelles Government School.

Throughout the competition, the students teamed up to answer both multiple choice and close ended questions in five categories: local and regional history, sports, current affairs, credit union affairs and general knowledge.

President of KCCU, Cynthia Hope-Browne, has said that “KCCU" recognizes the need for programmes that would complement the classroom learning experience” and that the credit union understands the importance that youth play in our society. Speaking of youth at the finals, the president said: “They represent the hopes, dreams and aspirations of our future. We are very happy to foster an environment that caters to the positive development and social well being of our children”.

The students of the Stubbs Government School have gone back to South Windward with the Thomas Saunders challenge trophy, which was held for one year by last year’s winner, C.W Prescod Primary School.

This year marks 26 years since KCCU first executed the Primary School Quiz in 1992. The preliminary round was staged on Saturday November 11 at St. Vincent Grammar School, with participation from 32 of the 68 primary schools nationwide. The finals took place on Saturday November 18 at the Reuben John Development Centre in the KCCU building.

266 views0 comments
bottom of page